2/18/24 Please remember that there is no class scheduled for tomorrow which is President's day.  In addition, there are no driving lessons or testing scheduled for tomorrow, 2/19/24.  Have a great day for family. 

2/15/24 The storm alert has been removed for tonight.  It's only raining now.  Therefore, there will be class at my office in Stevenson tonight.

2/15/24 All driving lessons have been cancelled for today.  It is snowing hard now. I am still planning to hold class tonight from 6-8pm as scheduled.  The snow is supposed to change to rain, but so far has not done so.  Classes are better in the classroom for many reasons so I am going to wait before canceling class.  If you cannot come, you can make up this lesson 3 on March 25th from 4-6pm.  Keep an eye on this page.  I will update it this afternoon.  Be safe.

1/30/24  The next class will begin on 3/18/24. Here are some things you need to know concerning the class. This class will meet on Monday and Wednesday from 4-6pm. There will be a parent student orientation on Saturday, 3/16/24 at 10am.  Please plan to attend with your student.  There will be documents to sign and much important information given concerning course completion requirements and getting a Driver's License. The cost is still $475.  The price will raise to $500 in June which is still lower than my competitors in Vancouver and Camas. I still have space for more students in all classes.  Students will need a Washington ID Number to get their Learner's Permit.  I will need that number so I can enter it into the dol database that your student is enrolled in my class. This number can be accessed online or at the department of licensing office. Students can get their permit 10 days prior to the class start date.  If students are over age 15 1/2 thy can get their permit by passing the dol knowledge test which I administer at my office.  Please call to set up a time.

1/11/24 Here is something that it would be good for some parents and youth to know.  Governor Jay Inslee signed into law that the department of licensing has until October 2024 to have a plan and by 2026 to implement a program for those who did not take driver's ed to take driver's ed who are age 18-24.  This ruling is because of the number of accidents caused by drivers who have not taken driver's ed and are age 18-25. Here is an article concerning this.

OLYMPIA, WA. – (KGMI.com) Driver’s education will soon become mandatory for more Washington drivers.

Governor Jay Inslee signed SB 5583 into law earlier this year, which requires the Department of Licensing to expand the requirement for new drivers aged 18 to 24.

Currently, drivers’ education is only mandatory for 16- and 17-year-olds in Washington state.

But data from the state Traffic Safety Commission backs up lawmakers’ concerns over a lack of education for other young drivers.

In Whatcom County, more drivers between the ages of 18 and 25 have been involved in fatal accidents than any other age group within the past decade.

Half of those accidents were caused by the driver speeding.

The state DOL has until October of 2024 to create the new expansion plan and present it to state transportation committees.

State Senators anticipate the requirement will go into effect by 2026.


Each student will need a Washington ID Number.  You can apply on my website, or at the department of licensing office.  I will need that number before students can apply for their permit.  Students can get their permit 10 days prior to the class start date and must be at least 15 years old.  If students are at least 15 1/2 they can pass the department of licensing knowledge test to get their permit.  I administer that test at my office.  If you have questions, please contact me.



(360) 975-2799

danblack@topgeardriversed.com


Top Gear Driving School is approved and authorized by the Department of Licensing to give the knowledge and driving(skills) tests.  As of December 31, 2012 the DOL in White Salmon and Goldendale will no longer give the knowledge test and the skills (driving) test.  Testing can now be done at Top Gear Driving School.  This will benefit patrons who previously had to  go to Goldendale, White Salmon or Vancouver for testing.

This service will be available not only for beginning drivers, but for anyone needing the testing. Testing will be available by appointment only. Testing locations will not be able to take pictures, or issue a driver's license. It will be necessary to visit a Department of Licensing location  in White Salmon, Goldendale, or Vancouver.

** Very important!!!  Before you come to test, you must visit the Department of Licensing Office or Website to get your Washington Driver's License number. dol.wa.gov.  You will need to bring this number with you along with picture ID.  This can include school ID.

You can apply for a Washington ID Number either at the Department of Licensing office, or online on my website, topgeardriversed.com.  On the left side click on Sign-UP.  Then scroll down to dolpreapply and click there.  Begin filling out the required information.  You will need a state issured birth certificate and Social Security number.  The number needed is not the Confirmation Number.  Go to the bottom and click on continue to print off your Washington ID Number.  I will need that number if you are enrolled in my class so you can get your permit 10 days prior to the class start date.  You will also need this number if you are going to take the Department of Licensing Knowledge and Driving Tests.  You will also need picture ID.  This ID can be school Id, Passport, or other types of picture ID. 

Home

Learn From the Best

   

With over 30 years of experience, we take pride in our skilled and safe drivers. Top Gear Driving School is dedicated to serving youth as well as older drivers who need Drivers Training in the Gorge. We provide the best traffic safety training available at an affordable price.


Read more about us and Sign up for a class!

    Classes Are Starting Soon

   

Washington State requires that Driver Training programs include 30 hours of classroom instruction, with a maximum of 2 hours per day.


We have classes that begin nearly every 3 weeks. Check the course schedule and sign up today!


    Drive Times

    

Behind the wheel training is part of the course for beginning students. 


Washington State requires a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training, with a maximum of 1 hour per day. A minimum of 1 hour of behind-the-wheel observation is also required.  


We also offer behind the wheel training to anyone who may wish to learn to drive, or improve their skills. 

Want to schedule a drive time? Sign up or check the schedule here.

    Find Us

    We are located in Stevenson at 155 SW 1st Street. 


Phone

(360) 975-2799


Email

danblack@topgeardriversed.com

                                                                            PO Box 71 Stevenson, WA  98648

We are located in Stevenson at 155 SW 1st Street. 

Phone

(360) 975-2799